When you receive this, the President’s State of the Union address should have been delivered the night before. I say, “should have,” because at the time I am writing this, Nancy Pelosi, House majority leader, has stated she thinks it should be postponed, and she may not issue the invitation, as has been the historical protocol. This standoff may be as accurate a picture of the state of the Union as any rhetoric that proceeded (or did not proceed!) from the President last night.

If Jesus gave a State of the Church in America address, what might He have to say?

Don’t worry, I have no intention of speaking for God in assessing the Church. But if you will indulge me, I will share some questions I would hope He would address in such a speech.

By the way, if you think this line of thought is foolish — i.e., Jesus’ giving a State of the Church address — re-read Revelation 2-3. Like that portion of God’s Word, I assume He would have some things to commend and some things to condemn.

I would ask Jesus these questions:

• Some have stated the condition of society is the report card of the Church. Is that true?

• So much prayer is arising from the Church in this hour, calling for revival. It has been going on for a number of years now. Why have we not witnessed the answer to those prayers?

• As I scan Your “State of the Churches” address recorded in Revelation 2-3, the church that most resembles the American Church is Laodicea. Are we as blind to our own faults as they were to theirs? And are You outside the Church, knocking to get in?

• What do You recommend to remedy our condition?

I missed last night’s State of the Union address. I am at a prayer summit with other pastors and Christian leaders. It is good, but I must say, I am curious about the circus that may have been displayed around that address. I doubt anything shared there will heal the great rift in our nation.

Our needs are far beyond the reach of politicians. The hope for our nation lies in the hands of the Church, the people of God.

We need an awakening, as witnessed in the 1700s, and, again, twice, in the 1800s. Then the Welsh revival spread across the world in the early part of the 20th century, sparking the Azusa Street renewal.

Now, more than ever, we need to hear what the Spirit is saying to the Church!